Our grant funding decisions are based on the recommendations of our independent Research Advisory Board. Its current members are:

Chair: Professor Sobha Sivaprasad, MS Ophth, DNB, DM, FRCS, FRCOphth, University College London

Accordion icon

Professor Sobha Sivaprasad is a Consultant Ophthalmologist at Moorfields Eye Hospital and King’s College Hospital, London, and a Reader at King’s College London. Her research is focussed on clinical trials investigating new treatments in retinal vascular diseases, including macular degeneration and diabetic retinopathy. She is a member of the Macular Society.

Dr Clare Bailey, MD, FRCP, FRCOphth, University of Bristol

Accordion icon

Dr Clare Bailey is Consultant Ophthalmologist, and joint Clinical Lead at Bristol Eye Hospital. She leads clinical research into treatment for retinal disorders, particularly age-related macular degeneration, diabetic retinopathy and retinal vein occlusion.

Professor Alastair Denniston, MA, MRCP, FRCOphth, PhD, University of Birmingham

Accordion icon

Professor Alastair Denniston is Consultant Ophthalmologist (Uveitis/Medical Retina) at the University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust and an Honorary Professor at the University of Birmingham. His research centres around understanding what causes intraocular inflammation (uveitis) and other inflammatory eye diseases. He co-authored the Oxford Handbook of Ophthalmology. 

Professor Chris F Inglehearn, BSc, PhD, University of Leeds

Accordion icon

Chris Inglehearn is Professor of Molecular Ophthalmology at the University of Leeds. He set up the Leeds Vision Research Group, which focusses on the genetic and functional cause of inherited retinal diseases, including retinitis pigmentosa (RP), Cone-Rod Dystrophy (CRD) and Leber Congenital Amaurosis. He has written or co-authored over 200 research papers on human inherited blindness and, after broadening his research interests, on genetic tooth enamel defects.

Dr J. Arjuna Ratnayaka, BSc, MPhil, DIC, PhD, University of Southampton

Accordion icon

Dr Arjuna Ratnayaka is a Lecturer in Vision Sciences at the University of Southampton. He leads his team in studies around the molecular causes of degeneration of the retina. Some of his work has led to new insight into the causes of age-related Macular Degeneration (AMD). He delivers public lectures and workshops to raise awareness of blinding diseases, as well as conditions such as Alzheimer’s and dementia.

Professor Alan Stitt, Queen's University, Belfast

Accordion icon

Professor Alan Stitt is Dean of Innovation and Impact at Queen’s University. His research into diabetic retinopathy and age-related retinal diseases, has led to the development of several drugs that have progressed to clinical trials in diabetic retinopathy and diabetic macular oedema. He is a Fellow of the Association for Research in Vision & Ophthalmology (ARVO).

Professor Marcela Votruba, PhD, FRCOphth, University of Cardiff

Accordion icon

Professor Marcela Votruba is Head of the School of Optometry and Vision Sciences at Cardiff University. She runs a Retinal Clinic and a Genetic Eye Clinic at the University Hospital of Wales. Her research looks into the causes of inherited retinal and optic nerve diseases, and she recruits patients with inherited optic neuropathy for genetic screening to assist her research.

Professor Andrew Webster, MB.ChB, MA, FRCOphth, FRCS, University College London

Accordion icon

Professor Andrew Webster is Chair of Molecular Ophthalmology at UCL and a Consultant Ophthalmologist at Moorfields Eye Hospital. His team at the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Biomedical Research Centre (a partnership between Moorfields and UCL) discovered breakthroughs in understanding specific genetic changes causing retinal disease, which bring us closer to potential new treatments.

Our Research Advisory Board in an independent volunteer board where membership rotates regularly. Members abide by our code of conduct and conflict of interests are managed through an agreed policy which follows the Association of Medical Research Charities Principles of Peer Review

For all enquiries about our research funding, please contact grants@sightresearchuk.org or call 0117 325 7757.